Alterations

Hello blogging world, my name is Zosia and I am a charity shop addict.

It began at an early age when I used to follow my big sister’s fashionable footsteps in awe. Now that time has passed, I have found this to be one of my most pleasurable pass times. Some hauls are better than others (one of our favourite locations being 8 shops in the space of a tiny high street near our caravan in Seaford) and it has reached the stage where most of my clothes are purchased second hand. I do, however, like the idea that I am donating to charity when purchasing in multitudes.Pattern

This is where project ‘alterations’ originated.

About a month ago, I purchased an incredible 70’s style playsuit with a pattern to die for.

With its bold and beautiful colouring, I was drawn to it instantly.  So off to the changing room we went…

 

Once it was on, I could see instantly that it needed some work and I was unsure if I could do what was required. The removal of shoulder pads would be a doddle but as it was a few sizes bigger than usual, it needed to be taken up (to avoid the inevitable boob exposure). But with some sound encouragement from my mother, the playsuit was purchased and the task of alteration mine.The Alterations

I was desperate to get started immediately but found myself away from my sewing machine and basic sewing kit. With just my trusty safety pins to hand, I was adamant the process would begin.  Using the safety pins as pins, I marked out where I would sew and repeatedly tried on the garment and altered until I found the perfect fit (I actually even wore it out that night, safety pins and all!)

Once home, I was all over it. The safety pins were replaced by pins and the sewing machine prepped at the ready.

As it happens, it was no where near as hard as I was expecting. A straight seam on either side (after the appropriate position was secured) and Bob’s your Uncle.

Finished Product

I wore the finished product to work the following week and was complimented left, right and centre.

Not only do I feel super proud of my little achievement (a feeling I get upon completion of any project) but the real bonus was that the whole outfit (belt included) cost me a mere £8. Now that’s what I call a successful haul ♥

(Check out my sister’s fabulous fashion blog at http://www.stylitz.com for Stylish musings, inspiration & latest fashion news – ever an inspiration)

Leave a comment